Free Library of Philadelphia

Recent Posts
Tags
Free Library Blog
Home > Blog > July 2011 > WURD Broadcasts Live from Free Library Branches

Over the next two months, you can hear the latest and greatest about what’s happening – for free! – at your local library by tuning in to community-focused talk radio station, WURD 900 AM. As part of their “Summer of Freedom Program,” sponsored in part by Pierce College, WURD will highlight the Free Library, broadcasting live from 30 locations across our system during The Read Deal with Fatimah Ali.

You can tune in from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on the days listed below to hear host Fatimah Ali as she chats with librarians to get the “skinny” on Free Library programs and events… happening right next door! She will also take time to talk with patrons to discuss what the library means to them and how each neighborhood branch is integral to the vitality of its community. Ms. Ali (whose mother was a children’s librarian for many years in the Free Library system!) offers straight-shooting insight and keen knowledge of the city and its neighborhoods, making her program a perfect fit for conversations about all the Library is and does.

The first two programs of its kind aired on June 21st and 24th from the Parkway Central library, and beginning the week of July 4th, several branches in the southwest part of the city will play host to the live broadcasts.

Here's the schedule of WURD programming around the Library:

Tuesday, August 2: Greater Olney Branch

Wednesday, August 3: Logan Branch

Thursday, August 4: Wyoming Branch [to be rescheduled!]

Tuesday, August 9: Haverford Branch

Wednesday, August 10: Overbrook Park Branch

Thursday, August 11: Wynnefield Branch

Tuesday, August 16: Oak Lane Branch

Wednesday, August 17: Wadsworth Branch

Thursday, August 18: Lovett Memorial Branch

Tuesday, August 23: Kensington Branch

Wednesday, August 24: Ramonita G. de Rodriguez Branch

Thursday, August 25: McPherson Square Branch

Thursday, September 1: Lucien E. Blackwell West Philadelphia Regional

Tuesday, September 6: Charles L. Durham Branch

Wednesday, September 7: Blanche A. Nixon/Cobbs Creek Branch

Thursday, September 8: Walnut Street West Branch

WURD 900 AM
WURD 900 AM
Broadcasting from Eastwick Branch
Broadcasting from Eastwick Branch
Share:
Comments
Sun, July 24, 2011
Very Interesting Post! Thank You For Thi Information!
tuspipperneni - USA
Sat, July 30, 2011
This is neat hopefully it will expand throughout the area.
B -
Leave this field empty
Add a Comment to WURD Broadcasts Live from Free Library Branches
Name
Email (Your email is kept private and will not be shown publicly)
Location (Example: Philadelphia, New Jersey, South Philly, Germantown)
Comment

Note: please do not alter the following two fields.